Minnesota Secretary Of State - Ballot drop box locations
Skip to main content

Ballot drop box locations

Minnesota voters have different ways they may return their voted absentee ballot before election day:

  • by mail using the supplied stamped envelope
  • dropped off at the elections office that sent the ballot during business hours
  • deposited anytime in a secure drop box

On election day, absentee ballots may be returned no later than 8 p.m. to the elections office or secure drop box. Ballots for cities and towns that vote by mail may be returned to the county elections office or secure drop box no later than 8 p.m.

The information below is about secure ballot drop box locations.

County auditors or municipal clerks may provide secure drop boxes for the return of absentee ballots as long as they meet the requirements of MS 203B.082. Any locations must be shared with this office before every regularly scheduled election. All drop box locations shared with this office are listed below. Last updated on August 21, 2023.

Voters may only return ballots to a drop box operated by the county or city they live in. Locations below are ordered by county, then city. If you do not see your county or city listed below, return your absentee ballot to the elections office that sent the ballot.


City of Mendota Heights residents (House District 52B special elections only)

  • Mendota Heights City Hall, 1101 Victoria Curve, Mendota Heights, MN 55118

City of North Branch residents

  • North Branch City Hall, 6408 Elm St, North Branch, MN 55056

City of St. Louis Park residents

  • St. Louis Park City Hall, 5005 Minnetonka Blvd, St. Louis Park, MN 55416